GREAT BRITAIN

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is the official name of the state which is situated on the British Isles. There are four countries in the UK: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Their capitals are London, Edinburgh, Cardiff and Belfast.

The UK is an island state. The two main islands are Great Britain and Ireland. The country is washed by the Irish Sea, by the Atlantic Ocean in the north and the North Sea in the east.

Great Britain is a small country.

The heart of the UK is England. There are mountains in the north and west of it. There are also a lot of beautiful lakes there.

The smallest of Britain's countries is Wales. It is in the west of the UK.

Scotland is a land of mountains, famous lakes and a lot of small and large islands. The mountains of Scotland are among the oldest in the world. The highest of them is Ben Nevis. There are a lot of lakes in Scotland. The Loch Lomond is the largest. The Loch Ness is famous by its monster.

The capital of the country, London, stands on the Thames which flows into the North Sea. The Themes is not very long, but it is very important. The longest river in the UK is the Severn.

The climate of the country is mild. Summers are cool and rainy. There is much rain and fog in autumn and in winter.

The Head of the UK is the Queen. The real power in Great Britain belongs to the British Parliament.